• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

what all do i need to build an AR-10?

mead1985

hi guys. i have never built a gun before and i would like to build my own AR-10. i own a couple ak's and small game rifles but i want something that will reach out and touch something. i would really appreciate any help i could get about all the parts i need. i have looked on the internet but i figured i could get alot more help from someone or alot of people on how to go about this and give suggestions on barrels and etc. thanks

If stay away from the PSA stuff till they figure it out, lots of growing pains.

What I'm asking of you in order to help is an honest budget. You can't expect us to know your limits, or price your parts with out an idea. Also, this is like boys Barbie, there is a metric shit ton of options on parts/styles, do you even know yourself what you want?

honestly i want a good dependable rifle that i could use for distance and short range. i have been told to stay away from anything less than an 18" barrel but is there really a big difference? i hope i am not sounding cheap but $1400 could be my budget. i seen a smith and wesson for $1450 and heard that i should stay away from them as well.

honestly i want a good dependable rifle that i could use for distance and short range. i have been told to stay away from anything less than an 18" barrel but is there really a big difference? i hope i am not sounding cheap but $1400 could be my budget. i seen a smith and wesson for $1450 and heard that i should stay away from them as well.

NEVER talk to that guy ever again. 

You buy whatever the fcuk you want, and build it to the spec's you desire. We'll be here to help make sure it goes bang.