• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello from NW PA

Gmtech

Hi all

Just officially joined forum today and wanted to introduce myself. I have been reading threads here for awhile now.  Anytime I search something on Google your forum comes up with lots of ideas.  I purchased my first ar (5.56) about a year and a half ago and wondered why I hadn't done it sooner.  I also have a 6.5cm bolt gun and reload for both.  Before I got the 6.5 I was gonna get a 308 rifle but the more research I did and with the goals I wanted to achieve the 6.5 made more sense....but I still wanted that 308.  My first shooting experiences were with a 308 and I wanted that nostalgia.  I'm an auto technician and troubleshoot and repair mechanical systems so I thought ill build my own ar308...and that is when the troubles started.  From my searching I have a very common issue that can be caused by many things.  1 round loaded in mag bolt will not hold open against catch...carrier catches on feed lips

Build details to follow

Aero m5 lower
Aero m5 LPK
Geissele SSAE trigger
Magpul miad grip
Aero 308 rifle buffer kit for A2 fixed stock
Luth ar mba1 stock
Aero m5 upper
   Shoulda got the m5e1 cuz In the end I got
Aero m5 enhanced 15" handgaurd
Criterion dpms 22" m118 lr barrel
Fulton armory bcg that criterion headspace
Raptor charging handle
Lantac awm 5 round mag