• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Experience w/ US Made 308's

freetheeagle

I am relatively new to AR's and currently own a Colt LE6920.  I am considering buying an AR chambered for one of the popular short action loads.  I am pretty well set on a .308 but would consider one of the other rounds using the 308 as a parent case.  Due to availability and cost of ammo I have just about eliminated the other calibers such as the 300AAC, 6.8SPC, etc.  My entire working career has been spent supporting US industries so I have narrowed my search to rifles made in America so Armalite and most of the FAL's are out.  I don't intend to drop a load since the primary purpose is target shooting and home defense (preferably <$2K).  With that price point KA, LMT, Larue, and Baer fall out of the equation.  That leaves Colt, CMMG, RRA, S&W, DPMS, and Remington as well as a few small manufacturers I haven't listed.  Can anyone provide me with feedback you have had from direct experience with any of these that would be helpful in making a decision?

CMMG seems to have lots of internet complaints. RRA and Smith use several proprietary parts. People seem to love the LAR8. I think the jury is still out on the Smith. DPMS seems to be the most common standard for parts. Most of the rifles are vanilla out of the box but easily upgradeable. I don't know anyone with a colt but its probably nice. Do you plan on keeping it factory or adding parts?

I'm happy with my CMMG MK3. Bought new about a month ago, had some very minor issues (wrong bolt catch) but that was quickly rectified by CMMG sending me the correct one. Other than that it's running like clockwork over 350+ rounds. No jams/FTE/FTF's at all. No real signs of being overgassed either - shell casings land reliably 6-10' away at 4-5 o'clock.