• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Failure to feed for a rookie.

Powerman

I don't necessarily want to diagnose a specific problem, but have a discussion on the topic. I am new to ARs, let alone .308s.

On the surface, I can certainly understand being under gassed, or high friction. I do not see any such "common" problem of .308s being under gassed. Most complain of over gassed. I have yet to hear of a particular brand/combo/setup that is in fact under gassed. Having an adjustable block and having it turned down too much is sort of obvious. And of other note, if the gas block is covering the port, or some sort of fouling is present to provide restriction for the gas... well ya, under gassed.

Any other restriction to movement, not enough lube, sand/grit/mud/fouling.... maybe too much weight in the buffer.... I don't know, not moving right. That is easy to understand.

So what are some other causes, and what are the symptoms? I know weak springs in the mag can cause FTF. I have been looking into 3" 1911s and can read inherent problems with shrinking the design. I guess I"m asking, what are symptoms of specific FTF events, that are caused by other specific problems of the action not working properly. Educate me... or of course point me in the right direction.

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

From personal experience I have had a disconnector cause short stroking. My 300blk upper behaved exactly like an under gassed gun. 556 uppers on my lower ran fine but wouldn't lock back reliably. After lots of cussing and head scratching it was determined that the slot the disconnector spring sits in was slightly forward of where it should have been causing it to be extremely stiff. New disco and it runs flawlessly w all uppers.