• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New to the black rifle world and grateful I found this page.

CASEYPM

I've started on my first build a few months ago knowing nothing of AR-10's besides helping friends build their AR-15's and figured it would be just as simple as ordering whatever parts were on sale from different companies when I had the cash..... I was wrong! I started with my proprietary nightmare by buying a P-TAC TAC-10 lower from PSA that was on sale for $75.00 and got the LPK, Buffer tube, stock, upper with FA and dust cover. Unfortunately I started reading up on PSA and P-TAC  after I have made my purchases in haste because of the low prices... Read reviews on their site that were less than satisfactory, but still hoping for the best. I'm not ashamed to admit that I'm a budget builder. This project was mainly a compromise with the wife. I wanted a sweet bolt gun for hunting and a sweet AR-15. I was told to pick one, so I hit two birds with one stone. Semi auto rifle to have fun at the range with and has enough knock down power for medium to large game. I'm at a standstill on ordering parts due to a lot of things coming up all at once and started wondering if other brand barrels and BCG are compatible with PSA upper. PSA stated in an email to me regarding the issue "We can only guarantee that our lower/upper receivers will be compatible with our .308 parts and build kits" I've heard that all barrels and BCG's for 308 AR's are interchangeable except for the barrel nut, I've heard that only BCG's of the same company as the upper will fit....I've heard that I was insane for attempting to build my 308 AR from different companies.  I'm just trying to find the best deal out there but PSA has me scared now to use any other brand, which is stupid because I'm sure they manufacture very little from scratch and ge