• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

EugeneStoner

Hi All,

I'm a large pattern AR/AR-10 newbie and this is partly thanks to 308ar.com.  I was interested in larger caliber AR rifles for a long time before last year but was on the fence about actually owning them as I had trouble finding resources on the platform from anywhere but specific manufacturers.  This made it difficult to be sure I would be making a smart purchase that I would be happy with long term.  I then ran across this site and was able to quickly get educated on the platform enough to decide which .308 AR pattern rifle I wanted to buy first.  I found the compatibility guide and list of manufacturers especially helpful for this.  I  am now quite happy to have traded all of my traditional sporting rifles for modern sporting rifles.  I like to say I have moved from using Banker's Rifles (with fancy wood stocks I was always afraid were going to get scratched) to Battle Rifles. 

Hats off to all the great contributors here, especially the long-time regulars, administrators and moderators whose deep expertise and willingness to share it on a volunteer basis here is very helpful.

18 minutes ago, Robert@FULL30 said:

Say it again will ya :fullauto:

Welcome from Fl!

Thanks and "Battle Rifles" Robert! ?  Its Wikipedia entry is pretty precise and also includes the cool term "full-powered rifle cartridge":

"'Battle rifle' is a post-World War II term for military service rifles that are fed ammunition via detachable magazines and fire a full-powered rifle cartridge.[1]