• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Veteran's Day, 2021

98Z5V

I want to start this off, as a Veteran myself - it's not me, not about me.  Never was, and never will be.  I did my time, pulled 21.5 years, and did some crazy shiit in my time.  I got paid to do alot of things that "adventurous people" - Civilian people - pay alot of money to do.  Skiiing, kayaking, driving small high-horsepower boats, sky-diving, scuba diving, general fucking around with expensive toys, or just blowing 25k rounds of ammo in a weekend.  Or blowing $3m in munitions starting the 2nd week of Sep, because the new fiscal years starts 1 Oct.  And that stuff "needs to be gone or we won't get it next year..."

Here's where this goes...   It's not me.  Nothing about that.  It's the ones I learned from, that taught me how to handle that.  MY senior NCOs that beat the fuk out of me as a young smartass.  Those that HEMMED MY AS UP QUICK for the smallest mistakes.  Those that guided me through hard times, and difficult decisions.  Those that lifted me up, when I fucked up, and luckily, I didn't get anybody killed...  Veteran's Day is for my heroes - the ones that guided me, moved me, changed me, militarily. 

I've luckily pulled off some pretty spectacular shiit in my life, but it's not because of me - it's because of my trainers, that formed me, trained me, were hard on me, dogged me, SMOKED ME, ...   and then taught me what that was all about.  They're my heroes - I'm lucky that I didn't fuk up the lessons that they beat into me, way back when, and I'm lucky I recalled it when needed, and pulled it off.  Pure luck.  Beatings, back then, were required. 

On this Veteran's Day, I pay humble homage to those that were above me, and taught me to do the right thing.