• Visit EuroOptic
  • Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

What are your top choices for a 22 rifle?

jrtmasp

I want to get some opinions on the best 22 rifles on the market for $500 or under? No top quality competition level models will be considered, but that's not to say that it wouldn't be fun to just hear about a few on this level as well...there's a budget on this one. Savage, Ruger, or something else? Also, what would your choice be for a scope?

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm not an expert but I have owned a buttload of .22 rifles.

Right now we have a Savage/Stevens 64F, their MKII FSS, a Ruger 10/22 in a Tapco T6 stock with a Timney trigger group, a Marlin 795 with the DIP trigger and floorplate/trigger guard and wooden stock, their model 39M lever, a Remington 572 pump, a Springfield/Stevens bolt-action, and a Rossi Youth Combo 410/.22 single shot.

Of all those, I can't pick a favorite but can exclude the Rossi and 64F as choices for "top dog".

Most are well under $500, and the 39 and 572 can be found for under that...if you shop.  The 10/22 has its own sickness with accessories, much like ARs...there are literally thousands of aftermarket items for them.

If you want something that shoots well, with a satisfying "Hey! I hit it!" accuracy with most any type of .22LR ammo, the MKII and 795 are hard to beat right out of the box!  10/22 is also but as soon as you get it, you'll be shopping accessories.

Jon

My favorite .22 is my 77/22. I love that little guy. Always wanted a Browning Buckmark but never jumped on it.

Believe the words of caution on the 10/22. Not only are they addicting, but they will justify larger expenses for your AR's. Soon you'll be saying, "If I can spend $100 on a .22 part, I can definitely afford $500 on an AR15 part."