• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Your Defense Ammo's Age?

FreQRiDeR

Thankfully we usually don't use our  expensive, defense ammo as often as regular, plinking ammo. I just realized I have been carrying the same 40 rounds of defense ammo for almost 2 years. I'm curious how long do you all go before considering freshening up your defense ammo? What's LEO's take on this? 

I try to rotate stuff out every year if it has been in the weather, I really should try to get closer to Edges routine. Stuff that sits in mags at the bedside might go 3-4 years before I get around to rotating it out. My Dad had some mags sitting loaded for 20+ years after he retired from LE, when he did shoot them function was flawless.

We shoot every 3 months. We train and carry the same ammo (Winchester Ranger or Hornady Critical Duty, depending on caliber). I'm good for a fresh ammo swap each session... as well as a few extra "training" boxes to go... you know, for later. 

I always make sure I show up with a near empty range bag, and go home with a SWOLLEN range bag. 

34 minutes ago, Robocop1051 said:

(Winchester Ranger or  I'm good for a fresh ammo  extra "training" boxes to go... you know, for later. 

I always make sure I show up with a near empty range bag, and go home with a SWOLLEN range bag. 

I have been doing that all wrong !

I have 1962 3006 1962 National Match LC 20 round paper boxes and ball ammo in 8rd clips in bandoleers all stored in original metal ammo cans that shoots cleaner and as accurate as new stuff does also had same results with .45 ACP and.357 from 1990s

I had 6 boxes of Winchester 12Ga. 00 buck shot in paper hulls my Dad got from Govt.  during WWIi that we shot in 1995 that shot okay . It had been in the lower drawer of his gun cabinet.