• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Hello from Texas

DaveL

Hello to all of you.  I am retired from the Army and working as a contractor now so I decided to finally get an AR last September.  I didn't know about the AR Bug at the time fortunately as I have it fairly bad now because I just completed my 2nd AR15 build a couple weeks ago.  I had been wanting to build a .308 AR so for father's day my wife told me to go ahead and get the AP .308 stripped upper and lower combo I have been looking at for quite awhile, which needless to say I jumped at.  I have been researching AR10s for awhile now and I am looking forward to learning more about building and using them on here.  I am not new to guns as I grew up in KY with them and 20+ yrs in the military but I am somewhat new to building them.  I look forward to getting to know y'all on here.

Welcome from New Mexico Dave! The AP set you got is a great start for your build. 308 AR's are somewhat different than building an AR-15 since there are different variations and some parts don't play well with others. We've pretty much seen it all so you'll be able to get good advice from the folks here on your build. Don't hesitate to jump right in with any questions you have but be forewarned, we're very accomplished at helping people spend their money!:laffs:

Thank you for the welcome.  Just ordered the AP set yesterday as it was on sale and back in stock, lol.  I plan on taking my time and getting this rifle just right, but then again I said that when I started my first AR 15 build 9mo ago and had that one done in 2 to 3 months and have already built a second AR.