• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New guy from SD checking in!

Firedude

Hi,

Just found this site and since I am starting a .308 AR build, I thought I would join.  A little about myself; I'm a Battalion Chief for the fire department that I work. I'm a Army veteran, former sergeant in the 82nd Airborne Division (Infantry). I live in South Dakota. I'm a avid hunter and shooter. Like to hike, ride motorcycles and ATVs and love to read. I've built 3 AR15's in the past, but this will be my first .308 build. I currently have a Mega Arms Maten Upper/Lower Billet set and a Wilson Combat 16" Recon Tactical stainless fluted .308 barrel. Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

5 minutes ago, Firedude said:

Hi,

Just found this site and since I am starting a .308 AR build, I thought I would join.  A little about myself; I'm a Battalion Chief for the fire department that I work. I'm a Army veteran, former sergeant in the 82nd Airborne Division (Infantry). I live in South Dakota. I'm a avid hunter and shooter. Like to hike, ride motorcycles and ATVs and love to read. I've built 3 AR15's in the past, but this will be my first .308 build. I currently have a Mega Arms Maten Upper/Lower Billet set and a Wilson Combat 16" Recon Tactical stainless fluted .308 barrel. Any advice/suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

Welcome from southern Wisconsin and thank you for your service

Welcome from the LA swamps. One of my first assignments was sitting a well we drilled in SD. We stayed in Lemmon, SD because it was the closest hotel (almost 100 miles away!) The truck stop was the best place to eat. Pancakes the size of manhole covers, sausage patties the size of plates, both very tasty. Fond memories of SD.

On 6/10/2017 at 6:34 PM, Firedude said: