• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New Member in WV

Tommcgtx

Hi all! I'm a new AR-10 owner, found this forum while looking for people who hunt with AR-10s. I'm a Civil Engineer and an Army veteran. I haven't even had my new rifle out to the range yet. I'm still fairly new to my area, and am weighing local range options. Anyway, thought I'd introduce myself here.

3 minutes ago, Armed Eye Doc said:

Welcome to the forum.  Got any pictures you'd like to share?  Is it factory built or put together?

I bought a complete upper, a complete lower, a charging handle and BCG. I replaced the trigger with a LaRue 2 stage, and put a Magpul CTR stock on it. I also put a Magpul bipod on it. I have a vortex crossfire ii 3-9 x 40 scope on it that I originally bought for my AR-15, and put a red dot on that one. I haven't taken any pictures of it. It has an 18" 1:10 barrel.

1 minute ago, DNP said:

Welcome from San Diego from a third generation land surveyor raised by a civil engineering family. What realm of civil are you working in?  And for a quick engineering test, is the glass half full, or half empty?

Nice! I was actually a surveyor in the Army (Field Artillery), and did a lot of surveying afterwards. I work for a land development firm now, and it involves some survey office work. And of course, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

My favorite engineering question.