• Visit Site
  • Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

.308 AR Modification question

Being new to the semi-auto world I wanted to pose a question to the more experienced folks. First the background info. I recently purchased my first AR 308 to upgrade my trusty 38 year old Remington 30-06 pump. Being a retired Navy officer I was looking for a new interest/hobby and the more I read about the rifle the more I liked the idea of being able to interchange and customize the rifle. Additionally, Pennsylvania announced late last year that they would be making these legal to hunt big game with in the following year. I hunt in a very remote mountain area and hike very far back into the forest away from other hunters and don't have any plans to 'fill the air with lead'. The dense cover makes follow-up shots rare anyway and you have to track and wait for an opening so the rate of fire wouldn't be noticeably different. All this aside, Pennsylvania has now decided to amend the law and only allow the semi-auto guns for small game and coyotes. Yes, I could pull my old gun out but I really love the improved accuracy and optics of the new gun. I've read a lot of articles about modifying the AR 308 rifles to make them in legal to use. It appears there are a several options but these appear to be the best candidates. 

1) use a single shot 'zero'magazine sled. Drop in any following shots by hand and close the bolt carrier with the latch release. This would be the cheapest method but might not legally satisfy the law by removing the capability for semi-auto fire.

2) Replace the barrel with a new one without a gas port. This would definitely satisfy the intent of the law and the rifle would be a bolt action operated with the charging handle.