• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

How young is "too young"?

shibiwan

My wife and I have been fostering kids from the state (AZ) for a few years and we are about to adopt a 6-yo soon.

I've always thought that if I could teach them safe gun handling that it would benefit them as they grew older. Anyway, the questions are....

- How young do you start them with safe gun handling?

- How young is too young to take them to the range?

- What's the appropriate age for actual shooting? 

I was considering taking the little one to the range evnetually, but I'm unsure if it's appropriate at 6. He's full of energy and I think that could lead to safety issues. Then again, I could make him run to 200yds to plug up target holes... LOL. I also think that I'd start him out with perhaps an air gun or a 22 sooner or later... probably later....hmmmm maybe I could justify buying an AR15/M4 and add a CMMG 22 conversion... LOL.

Thoughts?

-S

Edited by shibiwan

My Dad started my brothers and I on a Daisy BB gun at 6 or 7.   Showed up how "dangerous" it could be by hitting some small bottles of nail polish, I think.   That explosion of liquid really brought out the "never point a gun at anything you don't want to destroy">

Back i the 70's and 80's when handgun metallic sillouete was popular, we had everything from toddlers in diapers, to 8-10 year olds at the range.

Youngest kid to shoot the 22 matches was 10 or 12.

My daughter started shooting small bore, indoor 22 at 10.

Respectfully

Terry

I started shooting with my dad at about 5 or 6 years old. I was tagging along on hunts by 6 or 7. I was actually partaking in the hunting by 9. By 12 I was shooting trap at the local gun club... That was all in the mid 80's though, and times are much different now. My folks didn't have to compete with MTV and Liberal Activists back then.