• Visit Beachin Tactical
  • Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

New from North Central Texas

Texas4Ever

Hello..  found this forum doing research on a new AR10 build.  Kinda new to ARs but I have a lot of experience with custom build cars and a few guns.  I have a pretty well equipped shop.  Started getting into these guns when my step-son joined the Army a few years ago and started talking about them.  Bought a PSA AR15 complete kit about a year or so ago just for kicks to see what all the hub-bub was about and it works good and I like the gun.  But it's just a .223.  Started looking at building an AR10 and by the time I wanted to pull the trigger and buy one, complete kits are non-existent anymore with the stuff going on in the world.

Anyways..  I was able to get a 5D Tactical 80% lower that is a DPMS Gen 1 style.  I have the lower parts kit and buffer tube kit also from them on the way.  I haven't decided on an upper package yet but it will be .308.  I also have decent optics from another gun I want to use on this one.  I am looking for input into the upper parts I should consider.  I'm not afraid to piece it together as long as the compatibility is good.  

Ohh..  Looking to use this gun on hogs and coyotes at a 100-250 yard range (or maybe further) at some point.  So barrel twist and length and even load data would be welcome.

23 minutes ago, Texas4Ever said:

I'm due west of FW far enough to be happy.  

I grew up in FW but am glad to be out of the city.  It is no longer the city where I grew up.  I have a brother who is south of Weatherford.  We have family land a couple of hours further west.

Not being from the city is great.

36 minutes ago, mrmackc said:

WELCOME from an old codger in Comanche county at Lake Proctor.  Know where that is?

This outfit in Abilene has a lot of LR308 parts.  cdnnsports.com , internet sales only.