• Visit Rainier Arms
  • Visit Ballistic Advantage
  • Visit Palmetto State Armory
  • Visit Cabelas
  • Visit Sportsmans Guide

Tack14 intro/newuser

Tack14

Hi everyone,

I was really glad to find this forum when I started searching for info on 308 AR's, especially once I found out (pretty early on) that building 308 AR's is a little different and something you need to research before you just start buying parts.  I've been reading articles and threads here off and on for a while - so much great info here!

I finally got enough parts together and other needfuls (tools, etc.) and am starting my first build soon.  Hopefully starting to get parts for the 2nd also in the not too distant future, but will have to see how that goes.

My background with AR's, well of course it has been AR-15 up to this point, I have a 16" carbine I got some years back.  But I'm just getting started with the world of 308 AR's, it is something I've been reading about off and on and thinking "one of these days..." for some time now. 

I do have experience with other 308 rifles though -- my first love for a rifle was the M14 / M1A.  What can I say, they're pretty rifles and it was love at first squeeze/crack!

Although I still like iron sights, my eyesight is not what it used to be and from the time I finally decided AR's are pretty cool after all and bought my first, I have had a curiousity about 308 AR's.

So here I am. :)  About to build my first.

I will definitely be in the n00b category with a lot of things, although I do have some experience handloading 308 and a few various smithy tools like a set of 308 headspace gauges.

Looking forward to it!

Tack14

Thanks eveyrone!

Forgot to mention, I am in Texas, DFW area.

On the first build --  I'm using:

American Made Tactical 308 lower